Rwanda revises its visa system


The Directorate of Immigration and Emigration of Rwanda  has revised the country’s standing visa system.  This is according to a press statement released on March 10, 2020 by the National Intelligence and Security Service of Rwanda.

“The Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration informs the public that the existing visa regime of 21 June, 2019 is hereby updated,” reads the statement.

Citizens of countries that are members to the African Union (AU), the Commonwealth and La Francophonie obtain a visa upon arrival and are waived visa fees for a stay of 30 days. 

 The Directorate General also adds that citizens of the East African Community (EAC) member states  which include Burundi, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania and South Sudan obtain  a pass or entry visa to stay for a period of six month in Rwanda. 

Citizens of countries that do not pay entry visa fees while travelling on ordinary passports are to be granted 90 days’ visa, free of charge and so are those citizens of countries that do not pay entry visa fees while travelling on diplomatic and service or official passports.

“The following countries have entered into a Visa Waiver Agreement or made unilateral decision to allow holders of diplomatic and service or official passports to enter Visa requirements, including to pay for visa fees,” reads the statement.

“Angola, Benin, People’s Republic of China, Cote d’Ivoire, Central African Republic, Chad, DRC, St Christopher and Nevis, Ghana, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Guinea, Indonesia, Israel, Haiti, Mauritius, Mozambique, Morocco, Namibia, Philippines, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Singapore, South Africa, Turkey and the UAE. The Visa will be valid for 90 days.”

Citizens of countries not in the above mentioned groups will continue to get visas upon arrival without prior application with a prescribed visa fee.

Also, Rwandans living abroad with a dual citizenship are allowed to use national identification cards at entry whilst returning residents with valid residence permits will also be allowed to use their resident identification cards.

“This Rwanda New Visa Regime takes  immediate effect.”

You May Also Like